What services will a dispensary be able to provide and how does it work?
Dispensaries may distribute medical cannabis in processed form or dried flower. Dispensaries will also be permitted to supply devices to administer medical cannabis. Qualified patients or their caregivers must present either their state-issued ID cards, or a valid state issued ID card at the door. No one else is permitted to enter the establishment other than registered employees. Once admitted the patients are welcomed by a trained staff who will help the patient make decisions based on their health needs.
What would a Maryland medical cannabis dispensary look like in my community?
A medical cannabis dispensary in Maryland is not going to look very different from other businesses or medical facilities currently located in your community. The Commission’s regulations and application process are designed so that the successful applicants for medical cannabis dispensary licenses will operate facilities that will not deviate from the character of the streetscape where they are located, and not offend or disrupt the character of the local community.
Is the consumption of medical cannabis allowed at the premises of a license dispensary?
No; consumption on the premises is not allowed. The regulations require patients to sign a statement that they understand that they are not immune from any prohibition on smoking cannabis in a public place or in a motor vehicle, or on private property where it is prohibited by the property owner. Dispensary operators who violate the regulations or medical cannabis law are subject to fine and the suspension or revocation of their license.
Why do the Maryland regulations exclude “food” from the permissible types of medical cannabis-infused products? Does this mean that all edible forms of medical cannabis are banned?
No. Licensed processors will produce cannabis in forms, such as extracts, oils, and tinctures. Some of those products would be suitable for patients and caregivers to use at home to make a wide variety of edible forms of cannabis. Some of these could also be flavored to increase palatability, Patients will need appropriate guidance and education about edible products.
All “food” produced or sold in Maryland is regulated by the Maryland Office of Food Safety. The Commission has not developed regulations regarding the production of medical cannabis in forms like food
How much medical cannabis and medical cannabis-infused product can a patient obtain in 30 days?
The General Assembly directed the Commission to determine the amount of medical cannabis that would constitute a 30-day supply. Medical cannabis and medical cannabis-infused products will vary in their cannabinoid profile and potencies. The Commission wanted to ensure that patients would be able to obtain sufficient medical cannabis each month to provide relief of their symptoms, and established 120 grams of usable cannabis (primarily dried flower) as a 30-day supply.
The Commission also recognized that medical cannabis-infused products could not be measured in the same way as usable cannabis, and set a limit of 36 grams of THC as a 30-day supply. Each batch of usable cannabis will state the THC quantity (expressed as a percentage). The dispensary will calculate the weight of the THC in each transaction of usable cannabis, and will not dispense medical cannabis-infused products in a 30 day period that exceeds the 36 gram limit.
Do you accept medical marijuana cards from other states?
No, only people that are registered with the MMCC are permitted to make purchases at this time.
Does the Doctor decide what my dosage is?
A doctor may decide dosage, but many choose not to. Recommendations are only valid for 120 days, and patients may only obtain a thirty-day supply at one time. The Maryland Commission wanted to ensure that patients would be able to obtain sufficient medical cannabis each month to provide relief of their symptoms, and established 120 grams of usable cannabis (primarily dried flower) as a 30-day supply.
The Commission also recognized that medical cannabis-infused products could not be measured in the same way as a medical cannabis finished product, and set a limit of 36 grams of THC as a 30-day supply. Each batch of usable cannabis will state the THC quantity (expressed as a percentage). The dispensary will calculate the weight of the THC in each transaction of usable cannabis, and will not dispense medical cannabis-infused products in a 30 day period that exceeds the 36 gram limit.
Where can I use medical marijuana?
You may use medical marijuana in your home or a medical facility that permits medical marijuana use on site. Medical marijuana may not be consumed at a dispensary or in a vehicle.
Will you protect my privacy?
Patient record are maintained by your doctor and the MMCC. The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) protect the privacy of the records. The dispensary will never disclose any information, other that with the MMCC as required by law, without your authorization.
Can you accommodate handicapped individuals?
Yes, we are ADA compliant. The building has restrooms which are wheelchair accessible.
What forms of payment do you accept?
We accept cash and CanPay. If you are not familiar with CanPay, please sign up here prior to your visit for a quick and speedy checkout! We will be extending a 5% discount to our patients on their initial purchase using CanPay.